COVID-19 Update: All live classes can be attended from home. Learn More

ITIL® Training & Certification

ITIL® Certifications

ITIL® Foundation Certification
The ITIL Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management provides IT professionals and managers with the essential skills needed to deliver customer-centric, cost-justified, and business-driven IT services. Babbage Simmel’s ITIL Foundation course helps IT leaders understand ITIL terminology, processes, and innovations that can change the way they do business.

The ITIL Foundation Certificate is worth two credits in the ITIL Qualification Scheme.

ITIL® Intermediate Modules
Following ITIL Foundation, you can specialize your expertise at the Intermediate ITIL level, which offers two education paths, or streams. The first, ITIL Service Lifecycle, consists of five modules that are ideal for managers or leaders who need to understand how to manage and coordinate the ITIL practice areas. The ITIL Service Lifecycle modules also benefit those who need to provide justification for investing in IT services.

The second stream, ITIL Service Capability, consists of four certifications, or qualifications, that focus on specific phases of the ITIL Service Lifecycle, with emphasis on process activities and their execution and use. If your job role focuses on one area of ITIL or you need detailed, process-level knowledge, the Service Capability modules are for you.

In the ITIL Qualification Scheme, all ITIL Service Lifecycle certifications are worth three credits, and all ITIL Service Capability qualifications are worth four credits.

ITIL® Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC)
The MALC qualification is the capstone of the ITIL Intermediate level. Because this qualification requires in-depth knowledge of the ITIL lifecycle and its principles, you may train for and take the exam only after earning the ITIL Foundation certification as well as 15 credits from the ITIL Service Lifecycle and Capabilities modules. The MALC qualification is worth five credits in the ITIL Qualification Scheme.

ITIL® Expert Certification
Obtaining the ITIL Expert certification demonstrates an advanced understanding of ITIL. To take the exam, you must have an ITIL Foundation Certificate or v2-to-v3 Bridge certificate and 17 credits from the ITIL Intermediate level (five of which are earned from Managing Across the Lifecycle).

In order to earn all 22 credits required to qualify for the ITIL Expert certification, you must earn qualifications from modules that do not contain overlapping content. If two qualifications have a high degree of overlapping subject matter, only the credit earned from one of the qualifications will be considered. Please contact Babbage Simmel at  1-614-481-6555  if you have questions about the credit system.

ITIL® Master Qualification
Senior-level IT service managers, executives, and consultants with more than five years of relevant experience and who have earned the ITIL Expert certification are eligible to earn the ITIL Master qualification. Instead of taking a written exam, you must explain how you applied your knowledge and understanding of ITIL to implement a solution in a real-life situation. In addition, you must submit a Work Package for review and attend an interview to support it.



ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited.
The Swirl logo™ is a trade mark of AXELOS Limited.