ITIL® Service Lifecycle: Service Design

The ITIL® Intermediate Qualification: Service Design Certificate is part of the ITIL Intermediate Lifecycle stream, and is one of the modules that lead to the ITIL Expert in IT Service Management Certificate.

This 3-day will teach students how to plan, implement and optimize the Service Design processes. ITIL Service Design best practices enables IT departments to design services and govern practices, policies and procedures that facilitate the introduction of services into a live environment, thereby ensuring quality service delivery, customer satisfaction and cost-effective service provision. Students will gain the skills required to take the ITIL Intermediate Qualification: Service Design Certification Exam.

At the end of this 3 day course, the student will gain competencies in:

  • Management and control of all Service Design activities

  • Management and application of Service Design concepts, inputs, outputs and activities

  • Knowledge of Service Design principles and management of Service Design processes

  • Control and coordination of Service Design technology related activities

  • Justification and control of the organizational and technological issues on Service Design

  • Analysis, justification and selection of the implementation approaches, challenges, critical success factors and risks

  • Developing and presenting a high-level security policy

  • Producing a draft Service Level Agreement (SLA)

  • Completing Business Impact Analysis and Risk Management

  • Prepare for and take the ITIL Intermediate Qualification: Service Design Certification Exam

ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.
The Swirl logo™ is a trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.

Course Outline

MODULE 1: Introduction and Overview

  • Purpose and goals

  • Scope of Service Design

  • Doing it right the first time

  • Designing new and changed service

  • How Service Design creates business value

MODULE 2: Key Service Design Principles

Five aspects of Service Design

  • New or changes service solutions

  • Service management systems and tools

  • Technology architectures and management systems

  • Processes, roles and capabilities

  • Measurement, methods and metrics

MODULE 3: Four Ps of Design

  • People

  • Products

  • Processes

  • Partners

MODULE 4: Primary Activities of Service Design

Analyzing business requirements

  • Collection, analyzing and engineering requirements

  • Evaluating Service Design models

  • Identifying solution alternatives reusing existing components

  • Designing the appropriate solution

  • Developing service acceptance criteria

  • Evaluating total costs and agree expenditures

MODULE 5: Achieving balance between design & existing strategies

  • Ensuring inclusion of governance & security controls

  • Completing IT readiness assessment

  • Aligning supplier & supporting agreements

  • Assembling the Service Design Package (SDP)

  • Producing, maintaining & revising all services, design processes & documents

  • Liaison with other design & planning activities

  • Aligning with corporate & IT strategies

MODULE 6: Service Design Processes

Service Catalog Management (SCM)

  • Managing the Service Catalog

  • Providing a central source of information on IT services delivered to the business by the service provider

  • Ensuring the business can view an accurate & consistent picture of IT services available, including details & status

MODULE 7: Service Level Management (SLM)

  • Negotiating, agreeing & documenting appropriate IT service targets with the business

  • Monitoring & producing reports on delivery against agreed level of service

MODULE 8: Capacity Management

  • Matching capacity of IT to agreed business demands

  • Capacity Management: right resource, right time, right cost

MODULE 9: Availability Management

  • Ensuring that availability targets are measured & achieved in a cost-effective manner

  • Building availability into the design

MODULE 10: IT Service Continuity Management

  • Maintaining ongoing recovery capability to match agreed needs, requirements and time scales

  • Developing service continuity and recovery plans

  • Aligning plans with business needs over time

MODULE 11: Service Design and Technology

Technology-related activities

  • Requirements Engineering: requirement types, activities and techniques

  • Data and Information Management activities

  • Techniques within Application Management

  • Investigating Service Design requirements

  • Technology considerations for Service Design

MODULE 12: Organizing Service Design

  • Roles appropriate within Service Design and Service Design-focused processes

  • Defining Service Design responsibilities

  • Aligning information security with business security

  • Managing suppliers to ensure quality and value for money

MODULE 13: Implementation Challenges and Risks

  • Outlining the challenges and risks facing Service Design

  • Establishing critical success factors and key performance indicators (KPIs)

  • Developing risk-benefit analyses for adoption of Service Design



To be eligible for the ITIL® Intermediate Qualification: Service Design examination, candidates shall fulfill the following requirements:

  • At least 21 contact hours of instruction

  • Basic IT literacy or around 2 years of IT experiences is desirable

  • Hold the ITIL® Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management

Passing score is 70%. Eight (8) multiple choice, scenario based, gradient scored questions. Each question will have 4 possible answer options, one of which is worth 5 marks, one of which is 3 marks, one of which is 1 mark, and one of which is a distracter and achieves no marks. Maximum 90 minutes for all candidates in their respective language


ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited.


Individuals who require a detailed understanding of the ITIL® Service Design phase of the ITIL® core Lifecycle and how it may be implemented to enhance the quality of IT service provision within an organization.

IT Service Managers IT Directors Process Owners Service Desks All IT Staff Individuals seeking ITITL® Expert Qualification. This course is valuable for those who want to achieve the ITIL®Intermediate Service Design Certification.



ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited.

Available Course Dates

03/20/2018 10:00 am - 03/22/2018 6:00 pm
Click here to sign up for this class