CISSP® Certification Prep

This five-day, instructor-led course is the most comprehensive review of information security concepts and industry best practices, and covers the eight domains of the official CISSP CBK (Common Body of Knowledge). You will gain knowledge in information security that will increase your ability to successfully implement and manage security programs in any organization or government entity. You will learn how to determine who or what may have altered data or system information, potentially affecting the integrity of those asset and match an entity, such as a person or a computer system, with the actions that entity takes against valuable assets, allowing organizations to have a better understanding of the state of their security posture. Policies, concepts, principles, structures, and standards used to establish criteria for the protection of information assets are also covered in this course

What You Will Learn
In-depth coverage of the eight domains required to pass the CISSP exam:

  1. Security and Risk Management

  2. Asset Security

  3. Security Engineering

  4. Communications and Network Security

  5. Identity and Access Management

  6. Security Assessment and Testing

  7. Security Operations

  8. Software Development Security

Course Outline

ISSP® candidates are expected to be knowledgeable of the concepts, skills and technologies embodied in each domain. Here is an overview of the range of topics students will explore for each domain:

1. Security and Risk Management (e.g., Security, Risk, Compliance, Law, Regulations, Business Continuity)

  • Understand and Apply Concepts of Confidentiality, Integrity, and Availability

  • Apply Security Governance Principles

  • Compliance
    Understand Legal and Regulatory Issues that Pertain to Information Security in a Global Context

  • Develop and Implement Documented Security Policy, Standards, Procedures, and Guidelines

  • Understand Business Continuity Requirements

  • Contribute to Personnel Security Policies

  • Understand and Apply Risk Management Concepts

  • Understand and Apply Threat Modeling

  • Integrate Security Risk Considerations into Acquisitions Strategy and Practice

  • Establish and Manage Security Education, Training, and Awareness

2. Asset Security (Protecting Security of Assets)

  • Classify Information and Supporting Assets

  • Determine and Maintain Ownership

  • Protect Privacy

  • Ensure Appropriate Retention

  • Determine Data Security Controls

  • Establish Handling Requirements

3. Security Engineering (Engineering and Management of Security)

  • Implement and Manage an Engineering Life Cycle Using Security Design Principles

  • Understand Fundamental Concepts of Security Models

  • Select Controls and Countermeasures Based Upon Information Systems Security Standards

  • Understand the Security Capabilities of Information Systems

  • Assess and Mitigate the Vulnerabilities of Security Architectures, Designs, and Solution Elements

  • Assess and Mitigate Vulnerabilities in Web-based Systems

  • Assess and Mitigate Vulnerabilities in Mobile Systems

  • Assess and Mitigate Vulnerabilities in Embedded Devices and Cyber-Physical Systems

  • Apply Cryptography

  • Apply Secure Principles to Site and Facility Design

  • Design and Implement Facility Security

4. Communications and Network Security (Designing and Protecting Network Security)

  • Apply Secure Design Principles to Network Architecture

  • Securing Network Components

  • Design and Establish Secure Communication Channels

  • Prevent or Mitigate Network Attacks

5. Identity and Access Management (Controlling Access and Managing Identity)

  • Control Physical and Logical Access to Assets

  • Manage Identification and Authentication of People and Devices

  • Integrate Identity as a Service (IDaaS)

  • Integrate Third-Party Identity Services

  • Implement and Manage Authorization Mechanisms

  • Prevent or Mitigate Access Control Attacks

  • Manage the Identity and Access Provisioning Life Cycle

6. Security Assessment and Testing (Designing, Performing, and Analyzing Security Testing)

  • Design and Validate Assessment and Test Strategies

  • Conduct Security Control Testing

  • Collect Security Process Data

  • Conduct or Facilitate Internal and Third-Party Audits

7. Security Operations (e.g., Foundational Concepts, Investigations, Incident Management, Disaster Recovery)

  • Understand and Support Investigations

  • Understand Requirements for Investigation Types

  • Conduct Logging and Monitoring Activities

  • Secure the Provisioning of Resources through Configuration Management

  • Understand and Apply Foundational Security Operations Concepts

  • Employ Resource Protection Techniques

  • Conduct Incident Response

  • Operate and Maintain Preventative Measures

  • Implement and Support Patch and Vulnerability Management

  • Participate in and Understand Change Management Processes

  • Implement Recovery Strategies

  • Implement Disaster Recovery Processes

  • Test Disaster Recovery Plan

  • Participate in Business Continuity Planning

  • Implement and Manage Physical Security

  • Participate in Personnel Safety

8. Software Development Security (Understanding, Applying, and Enforcing Software Security)

  • Understand and Apply Security in the Software Development Life Cycle

  • Enforce Security Controls in the Development Environment

  • Assess the Effectiveness of Software Security

  • Assess Software Acquisition Security


Who Needs to Attend

  • Anyone whose position requires CISSP certification

  • Individuals who want to advance within their current computer security careers or migrate to a related career

Professionals with at least five years of experience and who demonstrate a globally recognized level of competence, as defined in the CISSP Common Body of Knowledge (CBK) in two or more of the eight security domains

Why Pursue a CISSP® Certification?
Many companies are beginning to regard a CISSP® certification as a requirement for their technical, mid-management, and senior IT management positions. Achieving the Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP®)-the world's global security certification standard--proves high proficiency in foundation security disciplines. Offered through (ISC)², one of the world's leading international security certification organization, the exam's stringent criteria sets the benchmark for excellence in security practice, requiring candidates to prove deep understanding of security concepts, principles, and methodologies.

The CISSP® certification exam is rigorous, covering eight security domains essential for the protection of information systems, corporations and national infrastructures. Understanding that security is an enterprise wide problem, these domains provide the candidate with a broad understanding of the technical, managerial and human factors that must coordinate effectively to keep information and systems secure. These domains include:

Using this course, students prepare for the exam, while at the same time obtaining essential security knowledge that can be immediately used to improve organizational security. This knowledge enhances services and products, secures business functions and infrastructures, provides better implementation processes, and can be used to restructure critical programs and procedures to help keep companies up-to-date on today's business and security strategies, technologies, and best practices.